A Lament For Epirus 1926-1928


Alexis Zoumbas was one of the most sublime musicians to ever cast a shadow across the face of the Earth and no one has been able to translate the emotions of despair—of devastation—through an instrument as effectively as Zoumbas. Years of research and obsession have resulted in this, the first collection of recordings by the legendary and masterful Greek folk violinist Alexis Zoumbas. Very few Pre-War musicians have tapped deeper into the human soul than Zoumbas and this volume presents his most profoundly hypnotic and unearthly pieces. This version includes a 7” EP featuring two previously unissued and unheard alternate takes of the masterpieces Epirotiko Mirologi and Doina.

1 in stock

Categories: , Tag:


  • A1 Epirotiko Mirologi
  • A2 Gaitanaki
  • A3 Tsamiko Makedonias
  • A4 Samantakas
  • A5 Frasia
  • B1 Kleftes (Tsamikos)
  • B2 Mpil Mpil
  • B3 Alimbeis
  • B4 Syrtos Sta Dyo
  • B5 Tzamara Arvanitiko
  • 7inch
  • A. Epirotiko Mirologi (Unisssued Alternate Take)
  • B. Doina (Unisssued Alternate Take)

Additional information

kformat ,