Tlahoun Gèssèssè

Ethiopian Urban Modern Music Vol. 4

Format: LP
Release Year: 2021

In stock


A stunning set of vocal recordings by Tlahoun Gèssèssè, one of the most important singers during the golden age of Ethiopian music, caught here on a set of sides that sadly saw that period coming to an end! The tracks on the set are mostly from the early 70s, a time that saw great political changes in Ethiopia and tremendous censorship and restrictions on cultural production. Gèssèssè’s vocals during this time are perhaps even more melancholy and heartfelt than before, and he’s working here on a number of sides with the legendary Mulatu, with arrangements that have a angular, almost modernist edge. Despite the language barriers that keep us from understanding what Gèssèssè’s singing about, there’s an incredibly evocative quality to the work that transcends time and place.

Tracks for: Ethiopian Urban Modern Music Vol. 4
A1. Alègntayé
A2. Kulun Mankwalèsh (70)
A3. Aykèdashem Lebé
A4. Bèyèt Nèw Mèngèdu
A5. Ené Nègn Wèy Antchi
B1. Yèné Felagoté
B2. Tezalègn Yètentu
B3. Tchuhetén Betsèmu
B4. Lantchi Biyé
B5. Kulun Mankwalèsh (73)

Recommended Items

We use tools such as cookies, in order to analyze our website traffic. By using this site you accept our terms of use, including our use of cookies.